Code – February 2016

Release-driven-development! (1) User testing means don’t have to pay QA staff (2) It is better to ask forgiveness than permission.

I don’t let the developers in my group write recursive functions. Been burned too many times with that nonsense.

project manager: i know enough coding to be dangerous *winks* literally ruins entire codebase

Nice when a language has both exceptions and optionals so we can throw optional exceptions when things aren’t actually _that_ serious.

 

“Redundant comments are just places to collect lies and misinformation.” – Robert C. Martin

“It is not enough for code to work.” – Robert C. Martin

“People think programming is this pure kind of logical thinking, when it’s mostly 99% banging your head against a wall until the wall gives” – Jeff Atwood

“I’m not a great programmer; I’m just a good programmer with great habits.” – Kent Beck

“I needed to take a break from staring at medium-sized screens with coworkers to stare at a small screen by myself” – Kevin Leahy

As I’ve leveled up as a dev, I’ve also noticed that language-bashing is basically saying out loud “My experience is very limited.”

Leave a Reply

